Tsogo Sun Moves for Life : Making a difference in the education of our children

Today we bring you some inspirational words from Tsogo Sun Moves for Life Tutor and Instructor Linda Makhubela who is based in the Johannesburg, Gauteng area along with a number of his students who have recently excelled at high profile Chess Tournaments locally.

For some a new dawn beckons as they step out onto the international stage to represent their country. For others the knowledge that the future abounds with positive possibilities. All of this made possible by the contribution of Tsogo Sun Moves for Life and a dedicated and passionate mentor in the form of Linda Makhubela.

Tsogo Sun Moves for Life : making a difference in the education of our children

Linda Makhubela1Kimberley 2015 South African Junior Chess Championships

First and foremost I would like to thank Tsogo Sun Moves for Life for all the opportunities they have given the children since 2010. With their support that they have given to children I have seen tremendous results of the children both educationally and Chess as a sport. Without the support they have given the children we wouldn’t have seen talented players such as Xolani Nhlapo, Asavela Mbewana, Khanya Mazibuko, Keith Khumalo, Mzwandile Laditho and many more.

Most of these players play in the A and B teams of Joburg Metro Chess Union which shows that we have some very talented youngsters in our townships.

May Tsogo Sun Moves For Life grow strength to strength and keep on changing children life’s. From all the children that you have supported we say thank you for all that you have done and may it grow more where it came from!!  Linda Makhubela

Linda Makhubela2SAJCC 2015 Kimberley (Kgothatso Moloi (8), Ntombaba Mbele (8) and Kabelo Duma(8))

We would like to say thank you Tsogo Sun moves For life for everything.

Linda Makhubela3Khanya Mazibuko (14)

DOB: 2002/01/13

I would like to thank Tsogo Sun Moves for Life for the support that they have given me and my team mates. Within two years I have managed to win most tournaments that you have encouraged me to participate in.

Recently TSMFL paid for my accommodation at the South African Junior Chess Championships held in Kimberley in January 2015 and it was my first nationals. I represented Joburg Metro Chess Union u14 A team and I have played board 2. Incredibly I won 5 games and drew 1 my total score was 5,5 out of 7!! I was happy with my performance as it was my first Nationals and playing with other A teams such as Western Province A, Tshwane A, KZN A etc.

After the team events I played the Wild Cards Events to qualify for South African Junior Closed Chess Championships. In Wild cards I was joint 3rd and finished with 5/7 and qualified for my first South African Junior Closed Chess Championships that were held at Pretoria in Waterkloof Hoerskool from the 4th -11th of April 2015.

In the SAJCCC I played with all the South African u 14 best players and I managed to finish in position 3 and therefore qualified to represent South Africa in the World Youth Chess Championships that will be held at Greece and also represent South Africa in the African Youth Chess Championships that will be held at Zambia later this year.

From the bottom of my heart I would like to thank Tsogo SunMoves For Life for the amazing opportunity they have given me to do what I love the most which is playing Chess. If it wasn’t for your support I wouldn’t be where I am today with my chess. Everyone dreams of getting the Springbok colors and I will be the second from my team to get the Springbok colors just after Asavela.

THANK YOU TSOGO SUN MOVES FOR LIFE.

MAY GOD BLESS YOU ALL!!

Linda Makhubela4Asavela Portia Mbewana (11)

DOB: 2004/03/22

I don’t know where to start, but first I have to say thank you to Tsogo Sun Moves For Life for all the support they have given me and my teammates. May they keep supporting us and giving more children that can’t afford to pay for tournaments a chance to prove themselves. Without their support we wouldn’t be where we are today.

Most of my team mates play for Joburg Metro A teams which shows that we have good players. I have represented South Africa and I would have not being able to get my Springbok Colors if it wasn’t for Tsogo Sun Moves For life

To Tsogo Sun Moves For Life we say THANK YOU and YOU THE BEST!!

Linda Makhubela5Xolani Nhlapo (12)

DOB: 2003/06/14

I’d like to thank Tsogo Sun Moves for Life for the opportunity they have given me and other children.

My teammates have finished all the good words I want to use.

From the bottom of my heart I say thank you Tsogo Sun Moves for Life.

 

Linda Makhubela6Keith Khumalo(14)

DOB: 2001/04/16

To Tsogo Sun Moves For Life I say thank you all for the wonderful opportunity you have given us.

I am now going to represent South Africa at the Commonwealth Chess Championships that will be held at India because of TSMFL!

If it wasn’t for your support I wouldn’t have gotten the opportunity to play at the South African Junior Closed Chess Championships that were held at Pretoria. At the Junior Closed I finished in 4th position.

THANK YOU TSMFL!!

Linda Makhubela7Njabulo Karabo Mavuso (12)

DOB: (2003/02/25)

I would like to say thank you, thank you and thank you to Tsogo Sun Moves For Life for the opportunity they have given me, my teammates and other children’s in South Africa.

To be a chess player has many benefits you travel around South Africa and other countries. I have travelled almost everywhere in South Africa going to compete with chess and mostly have been successful when competing.

Now my only dream is to represent South Africa in the World Youth and get the Springbok colors. I had a chance to compete at the South African Junior Closed Chess Championships that was held at Waterkloof Hoerskool. But I didn’t make it to the top 5. I played badly but I have learnt a lot from those games and I will correct my mistakes in the next Junior closed.

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!

Linda Makhubela8Buhle Mazibuko (12)

DOB: 2003/03/04

First I’d like to thank Tsogo Sun Moves For Life for the opportunity they have given me and my team mates to showcase our talents in the sports of chess.

This year I played my first nationals at Kimberley and manage to get 6,5/7 and I helped my team to get 3rd position in the Nationals.

Last year I qualified to play in the South African Junior Chess Championships but I couldn’t go due to money. But this year Tsogo Sun Moves for Life made it possible for me and my team mates to go and play in the Nationals.

Thank you for the support given to us!!

TSMFL

About Tsogo Sun Moves for Life

Education through Chess. A proven intervention to unlock the potential of SA's children. Moves for Life unlocks the cognitive potential of South African children by structured implementation of chess education where essential aspects of the game are actively linked with math, science and lifeskill concepts. Learning fundamental concepts are made fun and exciting for the child.
This entry was posted in South African Chess News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

